Guru ✨ or Guide 💡 ?

Guru ✨ or Guide 💡 ?

As a self-taught designer/developer, with no formal education in design or software development, I find it hard to show my work. It's a difficult situation to explain. Even when I want to, the need to share is always overpowered by overwhelming fear. The fear of being exposed as a fraud or an imposter. What qualifies you to give a public opinion on a subject matter in a profession? Do you have to be a professional yourself? What then makes you a professional?

But I wake up every other day, with the desire to share. My growth as a designer depends on it and is tied to the care and attention I give to what people can contribute to and take away from my work. I also recognise how seemingly random things can inspire people in big ways. The reluctance to share hacks, tips, tricks & works is due to the assumption that people have high expectations (from me), and that whatever I share on the internet needs to be perfect, spectacular, groundbreaking. I am realising, no one really cares what you put up here. There aren't many people where I come from that tell their stories or show their work. I desperately want to change this narrative.

What qualifies you to give a public opinion on a subject matter in a profession?

I can choose to emulate being a "Guru", or I can accept that we are all on the same long, never-ending journey and that I am just as confused and scared but with so many stories to tell, and so many mistakes to share while inspiring and guiding people around me.

Armed with this mindset, I am looking forward to sharing and learning as much as I can along the way.

Here are some amazing books/articles that are inspiring me to share;

Until the next story.

Faruk.